superbowl mvp : the pete-rozelle trophy

The National Football League’s Super Bowl Most Valuable Player (MVP) award is significant for several reasons:

  1. Recognition of Outstanding Performance: The Super Bowl is the most-watched sporting event in the World, and the MVP award is a way to recognize and honor an individual player who made the most significant impact on the game’s outcome on sport’s biggest stage.
  2. Historical Significance: Super Bowl MVPs become part of NFL history, and their names are forever associated with one of the most prestigious events in sports. Winning the award can cement a player’s legacy in the league.
  3. Individual Achievement in a Team Sport: American football is a team-oriented sport, but the Super Bowl MVP recognizes individual excellence within a collective effort – showcasing a player’s ability to stand out and make crucial plays which contribute to their team’s victory in “The Big Game”.
  4. Media & Fan Attention: The MVP award winner receives substantial media coverage and attention from fans, further boosting a player’s recognition and marketability which can be a catalyst to unlocking lucrative commercial partnerships and sponsorships.
  5. Career Impact: Winning a Super Bowl MVP can have a positive impact on a player’s career. It may lead to better contract negotiations, endorsements, and opportunities both within and outside the sport.
  6. Inspirational for Future Generations: Super Bowl MVPs often serve as role models for young athletes and inspire future generations to strive for greatness in the sport.
  7. Symbol of Success and Achievement: The MVP award symbolizes a player’s successful journey through the NFL season, playoffs, and ultimately reaching the pinnacle of success by winning the Super Bowl – a dream for many players but a reality for just 1 team each year. The MVP trophy represents years of hard work, commitment and sacrifice..
  8. Emotional and Memorable Moments: Super Bowl MVPs often deliver memorable and emotional moments, such as post-game interviews, celebrations or iconic plays which will be revisited time and time again by football fans and historians

Which Positions Win the Super Bowl MVP Trophy The Most?

Quarterbacks, Running backs and Wide receivers have won the Pete Rozelle Trophy the most times since 1697.

Former Patriots’ QB Tom Brady has the most career Super Bowl MVP wins to his credit (4 with the New England Patriots and 1 with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers), among his many football accolades.

Joe Montana (49ers) won three, and four other players (Bart Starr, Terry Bradshaw, Eli Manning, and Patrick Mahomes) have won the award twice as of the 2023 Season.

Betting on the Super Bowl MVP is a popular proposition bet with online sportsbooks and betting exchanges.

Super Bowl MVP Wins By Position
Position Wins
Quarterback 17 MVP winners
Running back 7 MVP winners
Wide receiver 8 MVP winners
Linebacker 4 MVP winners
Safety 2 MVP winners
Defensive end 2 MVP winners
Defensive tackle 1 MVP winner
Cornerback 1 MVP winner
Kick returner/punt returner 1 MVP winner

Super Bowl Most Valuable Players – 1967-2023

Super Bowl Most Valuable Players – 1967-2023
Year Super Bowl Winner Team Position College
1967 I Bart Starr* Green Bay Packers Quarterback Alabama
1968 II Bart Starr (2)* Green Bay Packers (2) Quarterback (2) Alabama
1969 III Joe Namath* New York Jets Quarterback (3) Alabama
1970 IV Len Dawson* Kansas City Chiefs Quarterback (4) Purdue
1971 V Chuck Howley* Dallas Cowboys Linebacker West Virginia
1972 VI Roger Staubach* Dallas Cowboys (2) Quarterback (5) Navy
1973 VII Jake Scott Miami Dolphins Safety Georgia
1974 VIII Larry Csonka* Miami Dolphins (2) Running back Syracuse
1975 IX Franco Harris* Pittsburgh Steelers Running back (2) Penn State
1976 X Lynn Swann* Pittsburgh Steelers (2) Wide receiver USC
1977 XI Fred Biletnikoff* Oakland Raiders Wide receiver (2) Florida State
1978 XII Harvey Martin[b] Dallas Cowboys (3, 4) Defensive end Texas A&M Commerce
Randy White[b]* Defensive tackle Maryland
1979 XIII Terry Bradshaw* Pittsburgh Steelers (3) Quarterback (6) Louisiana Tech
1980 XIV Terry Bradshaw (2)* Pittsburgh Steelers (4) Quarterback (7) Louisiana Tech
1981 XV Jim Plunkett Oakland Raiders (2) Quarterback (8) Stanford
1982 XVI Joe Montana* San Francisco 49ers Quarterback (9) Notre Dame
1983 XVII John Riggins* Washington Redskins Running back (3) Kansas
1984 XVIII Marcus Allen* Los Angeles Raiders (3) Running back (4) USC
1985 XIX Joe Montana (2)* San Francisco 49ers (2) Quarterback (10) Notre Dame
1986 XX Richard Dent* Chicago Bears Defensive end (2) Tennessee State
1987 XXI Phil Simms New York Giants Quarterback (11) Morehead State
1988 XXII Doug Williams Washington Redskins (2) Quarterback (12) Grambling State
1989 XXIII Jerry Rice* San Francisco 49ers (3) Wide receiver (3) Mississippi Valley State
1990 XXIV Joe Montana (3)* San Francisco 49ers (4) Quarterback (13) Notre Dame
1991 XXV Ottis Anderson New York Giants (2) Running back (5) Miami
1992 XXVI Mark Rypien Washington Redskins (3) Quarterback (14) Washington State
1993 XXVII Troy Aikman* Dallas Cowboys (5) Quarterback (15) UCLA
1994 XXVIII Emmitt Smith* Dallas Cowboys (6) Running back (6) Florida
1995 XXIX Steve Young* San Francisco 49ers (5) Quarterback (16) BYU
1996 XXX Larry Brown Dallas Cowboys (7) Cornerback TCU
1997 XXXI Desmond Howard Green Bay Packers (3) Kick returner/ punt returner Michigan
1998 XXXII Terrell Davis* Denver Broncos Running back (7) Georgia
1999 XXXIII John Elway* Denver Broncos (2) Quarterback (17) Stanford
2000 XXXIV Kurt Warner* St. Louis Rams Quarterback (18) Northern Iowa
2001 XXXV Ray Lewis* Baltimore Ravens Linebacker (2) Miami
2002 XXXVI Tom Brady‡ New England Patriots Quarterback (19) Michigan
2003 XXXVII Dexter Jackson Tampa Bay Buccaneers Safety (2) Florida State
2004 XXXVIII Tom Brady (2)‡ New England Patriots (2) Quarterback (20) Michigan
2005 XXXIX Deion Branch New England Patriots (3) Wide receiver (4) Louisville
2006 XL Hines Ward Pittsburgh Steelers (5) Wide receiver (5) Georgia
2007 XLI Peyton Manning* Indianapolis Colts Quarterback (21) Tennessee
2008 XLII Eli Manning‡ New York Giants (3) Quarterback (22) Ole Miss
2009 XLIII Santonio Holmes Pittsburgh Steelers (6) Wide receiver (6) Ohio State
2010 XLIV Drew Brees ‡ New Orleans Saints Quarterback (23) Purdue
2011 XLV Aaron Rodgers† Green Bay Packers (4) Quarterback (24) California
2012 XLVI Eli Manning (2)‡ New York Giants (4) Quarterback (25) Ole Miss
2013 XLVII Joe Flacco† Baltimore Ravens (2) Quarterback (26) Delaware
2014 XLVIII Malcolm Smith‡ Seattle Seahawks Linebacker (3) USC
2015 XLIX Tom Brady (3)‡ New England Patriots (4) Quarterback (27) Michigan
2016 50 Von Miller† Denver Broncos (3) Linebacker (4) Texas A&M
2017 LI Tom Brady (4)‡ New England Patriots (5) Quarterback (28) Michigan
2018 LII Nick Foles‡ Philadelphia Eagles Quarterback (29) Arizona
2019 LIII Julian Edelman‡ New England Patriots (6) Wide receiver (7) Kent State
2020 LIV Patrick Mahomes† Kansas City Chiefs (2) Quarterback (30) Texas Tech
2021 LV Tom Brady (5) ‡ Tampa Bay Buccaneers (2) Quarterback (31) Michigan
2022 LVI Cooper Kupp † Los Angeles Rams (2) Wide receiver (8) Eastern Washington
2023 LVII Patrick Mahomes (2) † Kansas City Chiefs (3) Quarterback (32) Texas Tech