NFL Draft 2024

The NFL Draft is a cornerstone of the league’s structure and strategy, providing a systematic mechanism for teams to select the best collegiate football talent.
As of the 2024 NFL Draft, Quarterbacks account for approximately 37.36% of all the number one picks

The first draft Instituted in 1936 was a modest affair, held at the Ritz-Carlton Hotel in Philadelphia, where teams selected players from a small pool of 90 athletes across nine rounds​.

In the years that followed, the NFL draft has evolved significantly, reflecting changes in the league’s competitive landscape and the growing importance of media and technology in sports.

A common theme that emerges from the draft history is the emphasis on quarterbacks, evident from the consistent selection of QBs as top pick (on 34 occasions), especially in more recent years. This trend underscores the quarterback’s pivotal role in shaping team fortunes, making it a strategic priority to secure top talent in this position.

Defensive players and running backs also feature prominently, though their prominence has waxed and waned with strategic trends and changes in the game’s playing style.

2024 NFL Number 1 Draft Pick:Caleb Williams

The 2024 NFL Draft ran Thursday Apr 25, 2024, 6:00 PM until Sat, April 27th, 2024.

The #1 NFL Draft pick for 2024 Caleb Williams from USC – selected by the Chicago Bears, exemplifies the modern NFL’s demand for not only skill and leadership but also the ability to energize a franchise and its fan-base.

Williams was highly sought after due to his exceptional athleticism, impressive collegiate statistics, and his potential to transform a team’s offensive capabilities. His selection reflects a continued trend towards favoring quarterbacks who can play high-caliber football right from their rookie season.

Historical #1 Draft Picks In the NFL

Here’s the table with NFL players drafted No. 1 overall – from the year 2024 to 1936.

Every #1 Draft Pick In NFL History
Year Position Name Team Drafted By
2024 QB Caleb Williams USC Chicago Bears
2023 QB Bryce Young Alabama Carolina Panthers
2022 DE Travon Walker Georgia Jacksonville Jaguars
2021 QB Trevor Lawrence Clemson Jacksonville Jaguars
2020 QB Joe Burrow LSU Cincinnati Bengals
2019 QB Kyler Murray Oklahoma Arizona Cardinals
2018 QB Baker Mayfield Oklahoma Cleveland Browns
2017 DE Myles Garrett Texas A&M Cleveland Browns
2016 QB Jared Goff Cal Los Angeles Rams
2015 QB Jameis Winston Florida State Tampa Bay Buccaneers
2014 DE Jadeveon Clowney South Carolina Houston Texans
2013 OT Eric Fisher Central Michigan Kansas City Chiefs
2012 QB Andrew Luck Stanford Indianapolis Colts
2011 QB Cam Newton Auburn Carolina Panthers
2010 QB Sam Bradford Oklahoma St. Louis Rams
2009 QB Matthew Stafford Georgia Detroit Lions
2008 OT Jake Long Michigan Miami Dolphins
2007 QB JaMarcus Russell LSU Oakland Raiders
2006 DE Mario Williams North Carolina State Houston Texans
2005 QB Alex Smith Utah San Francisco 49ers
2004 QB Eli Manning Ole Miss San Diego Chargers
2003 QB Carson Palmer USC Cincinnati Bengals
2002 QB David Carr Fresno State Houston Texans
2001 QB Michael Vick Virginia Tech Atlanta Falcons
2000 DE Courtney Brown Penn State Cleveland Browns
1999 QB Tim Couch Kentucky Cleveland Browns
1998 QB Peyton Manning Tennessee Indianapolis Colts
1997 OT Orlando Pace Ohio State St. Louis Rams
1996 WR Keyshawn Johnson USC New York Jets
1995 HB Ki-Jana Carter Penn State Cincinnati Bengals
1994 DT Dan Wilkinson Ohio State Cincinnati Bengals
1993 QB Drew Bledsoe Washington State New England Patriots
1992 DE Steve Emtman Washington Indianapolis Colts
1991 DT Russell Maryland Miami Dallas Cowboys
1990 QB Jeff George Illinois Indianapolis Colts
1989 QB Troy Aikman UCLA Dallas Cowboys
1988 LB Aundray Bruce Auburn Atlanta Falcons
1987 QB Vinny Testaverde Miami Tampa Bay Buccaneers
1986 HB Bo Jackson Auburn Tampa Bay Buccaneers
1985 DE Bruce Smith Virginia Tech Buffalo Bills
1984 WR Irving Fryar Nebraska New England Patriots
1983 QB John Elway Stanford Baltimore Colts
1982 DE Kenneth Sims Texas New England Patriots
1981 HB George Rogers South Carolina New Orleans Saints
1980 HB Billy Sims Oklahoma Detroit Lions
1979 LB Tom Cousineau Ohio State Buffalo Bills
1978 HB Earl Campbell Texas Houston Oilers
1977 HB Ricky Bell USC Tampa Bay Buccaneers
1976 DE Lee Roy Selmon Oklahoma Tampa Bay Buccaneers
1975 QB Steve Bartkowski Cal Atlanta Falcons
1974 DE Ed Jones Tennessee State Dallas Cowboys
1973 DE John Matuszak Tampa Houston Oilers
1972 DE Walt Patulski Notre Dame Buffalo Bills
1971 QB Jim Plunkett Stanford New England Patriots
1970 QB Terry Bradshaw Louisiana Tech Pittsburgh Steelers
1969 HB O.J. Simpson USC Buffalo Bills
1968 OT Ron Yary USC Minnesota Vikings
1967 DE Bubba Smith Michigan State Baltimore Colts
1966 LB Tommy Nobis Texas Atlanta Falcons
1965 HB Tucker Frederickson Auburn New York Giants
1964 WR Dave Parks Texas Tech San Francisco 49ers
1963 QB Terry Baker Oregon State Los Angeles Rams
1962 HB Ernie Davis Syracuse Washington Redskins
1961 HB Tommy Mason Tulane Minnesota Vikings
1960 HB Billy Cannon LSU Los Angeles Rams
1959 QB Randy Duncan Iowa Green Bay Packers
1958 QB King Hill Rice Chicago Cardinals
1957 HB Paul Hornung Notre Dame Green Bay Packers
1956 DB Gary Glick Colorado A&M Pittsburgh Steelers
1955 QB George Shaw Oregon Baltimore Colts
1954 QB Bobby Garrett Stanford Cleveland Browns
1953 OE Harry Babcock Georgia San Francisco 49ers
1952 QB Bill Wade Vanderbilt Los Angeles Rams
1951 HB Kyle Rote SMU New York Giants
1950 OE Leon Hart Notre Dame Detroit Lions
1949 C/LB Chuck Bednarik Penn Philadelphia Eagles
1948 HB/WR Harry Gilmer Alabama Washington Redskins
1947 HB Bob Fenimore Oklahoma A&M Chicago Bears
1946 QB Frank Dancewicz Notre Dame Boston Yanks
1945 HB Charley Trippi Georgia Chicago Cardinals
1944 QB Angelo Bertelli Notre Dame Boston Yanks
1943 HB Frank Sinkwich Georgia Detroit Lions
1942 HB Bill Dudley Virginia Pittsburgh Steelers
1941 HB Tom Harmon Michigan Chicago Bears
1940 HB George Cafego Tennessee Chicago Cardinals
1939 C Ki Aldrich TCU Chicago Cardinals
1938 FB Corbett Davis Indiana Cleveland Rams
1937 FB Sam Francis Nebraska Philadelphia Eagles
1936 HB Jay Berwanger Chicago Philadelphia Eagles
Tamara Stewart

Obsessed with sports stats, and fond of the occasional wager - Tam is a sports writer and data analyst covering NFL, NHL and UFC.